Hi forum,

I am sure I will get criticized by some for asking such a "Newbie" question but.......

So I got myself setup for WMR with the following hardware.

Mobo: Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0
    CPU: AMD FX-6300
    RAM: 8 GB
    GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 2GB GDDR5
    Headset: Samsung Odyssey

This is my first time ever using VR. I had never even tried it so I had no idea what to expect. I am bugged out a bit by the video quality. Every review I read praised the Samsung Odyssey for its AMOLED high resolution lenses so I guess I expected things to look at least as good as I get on a HDMI desktop screen at 1920x1080.

The resolution when I am in WMR is good (at least I think) but the image is not clear. It's as if I am always looking through a door or window screen.

I came here to ask a very simple question. Is this normal for VR ? Since I had never tried it before I have nothing to compare with so I don't know if there is actually really a problem.

And if it's not normal, what could the problem be ?
    11-15-2017 01:33 PM
    This is called the "screendoor" effect. Since your eyes are so close to the panels, you will see the black in between the pixels. It looks like looking through an old mesh screen door, hence the name.

Your eyes have to adjust to it, but your brain will filter it out after you get used to it.

This is present in all VR headsets, but some handle it better than others.
    This is called the "screendoor" effect. Since your eyes are so close to the panels, you will see the black in between the pixels. It looks like looking through an old mesh screen door, hence the name.

Your eyes have to adjust to it, but your brain will filter it out after you get used to it.

This is present in all VR headsets, but some handle it better than others.
    pkcable likes this.
    11-16-2017 12:04 PM
    Thanks Krisguy,

I appreciate the answer. And you're right, it does seem to get better as I use it
    11-16-2017 06:06 PM